Philippine Fashion Week Holiday 2011

Philippine Fashion Week showcased the Holiday 2011 collections last May 8-15 at the SMX Convention Center

It’s the time of the year when people pull the best ensembles out from their closets. It’s the time of the year when models, make-up artists and stylists are at their busiest.  It’s the time of the year when local designs shine like world-class couture pieces. Welcome to Philippine Fashion Week.

The Holiday (our version of Autumn-Winter) 2011 collections were showcased last May 8-15, 2011 at the SMX Convention Center. There were striking differences this season compared to the previous ones. First, cosmetics giant L’Oreal is now an official presenter. Second, logistical preparations were better as programs and primers were distributed to the audience before the shows. Third, waiting time for each show became longer because of the sheer number of AVPs (good thing the videos were at entertaining and were done tastefully). Finally, there were lots of local retails brands which had their Fashion Week debut this season. It is also worth mentioning that fashion retail leader Golden ABC celebrated its 25th years in style by producing shows for all of the brands under its wing, namely Penshoppe, Oxygen, Memo, For Me and Regatta (news came out over the weekend that they already acquired Tyler too!)

My first fashion week experience was roughly three seasons ago (S/S 2010). I sort of interned for Runway Productions and helped out as Sarah Meier’s personal assistant for PFW TV. It was a totally new and exciting experience for me. I learned tons of information (and discovered lots of secrets) about the fashion industry. I can say that it’s one of the things that I’ll really treasure and certainly won’t regret.🙂 I helped out again the season after that.

Nostalgia. I interned for PFW three seasons ago.

This season, I was able to watch my first few shows in the audience area. However, since I wanted more action, I decided to bring a camera and take photos on the succeeding days that I watched. I’ll upload them through several entries in my next few posts. Watch out for it!

Anyway, here are what I wore during the four days that I was there. Sorry if I seem too haggard in these photos. These were taken at the end of each day, so yeah I think you get it. Hahaha!

Day 2

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Leave a Reply

