Surreal

I have to admit, this is perhaps one of the best days of my life. I got admitted to Ateneo Law School.

Yeah I know, to some this might not be big enough of a deal; but this means so much for me. Last week, I graduated from college, not sure on what would I be doing after. Some of my batchmates already have job offers from those multinational companies, but there I was, still undecided on which track I will choose to take. I didn’t bother to submit my resume during the job fair at school, nor did I check potential job matches on JobStreet or JobsDB. During that time, my mind is set that I would first wait for the results of the law school admissions before really doing something concrete about my immediate plans.

Thankfully, I made the right choice. I was at the house of my immersion foster family a while ago when I first learned of the news. I know that the results will be out today, more than three months after taking the entrance exams. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting anything. I was merely hoping for the best. Still, I had the same feeling of anxiousness as with my friends who were also awaiting the results.

Immediately after a friend broke the news to me through text, I checked Twitter and Facebook searching for clues just to confirm if it really was true. After all, it’s April Fools Day; my friend might just be playing a prank on me. But then, I started receiving congratulatory messages on my online accounts. So it must be really true then. Since I was at a remote area that time, I tried to contain my excitement. It was only on my way home that the fact started to sink in: I passed law school and I HAVE A FUTURE! :D

I was planning to break the news personally to my parents but unfortunately, Facebook beat me to it. I received a call from my mom and from the tone of her voice, I could feel that she is more excited than I am. I remember the same situation that happened almost four years ago when I was first admitted to the Ateneo as an undergraduate. When I arrived home, we had a special dinner. Maybe that demonstrates how giddy my parents were. Hahaha! Still, I know that they are happy and I am at peace with that.

However, despite the presence of the wonderful news that came across me today, I feel that I couldn’t be completely happy. I know that it is a blessing that I passed, but it’s just that I think that there are people who deserved the slot more than I do. Also, I decided to take up law midway through my college years and it makes me feel that there are also people who want to be in this pedestal all the more.

With that, it leads me to the idea that the fact I was chosen to be here is a challenge. It is a challenge for me to be accepted maybe because I can handle the pressure. It is a challenge for me to do well in law school so that I can have a bright future. It is a challenge for me to become a lawyer so that I can make a difference.

More than being happy, I know that being in this position commands responsibility. This is my destiny and I accept this challenge wholeheartedly.

Here I come, Rockwell!

With my thoughts still floating in surreality,

Carlo :)

P.S. Thanks to everyone who greeted!!! It really means so much to me! :)

Leave a Reply

